New Hampshire Decriminalizes Marijuana Possession – News

In just a matter of two months, people caught in possession of small amounts of marijuana in New Hampshire will no longer have to worry about being arrested or serving time in jail.

On Tuesday, Governor Chris Sununu put his signature of a piece of legislation designed to eliminate the criminal penalties associated with marijuana possession. The new law, which is set to take effect in 60 days, will allow anyone caught with up to three quarters of an ounce of flower or five grams of hash to simply pay a fine between $100 and $300 instead of being thrown to the wolves of the criminal justice system.

However, for those unfortunate souls who make it habit of getting picked up by police with weed in their pockets, the law will only tolerate so much. First, second and even third offenses will be handled with fines, but someone busted a fourth time could easily find themselves under the blade of a criminal misdemeanor.

Nevertheless, marijuana advocates are pleased with the Governor’s willingness to implement this common sense reform.

“The governor deserves credit for his steadfast support of this commonsense reform,” Matt Simon, political director for the New England…

Continue reading at

About Merry Jane

is the definitive cannabis resource on culture, news, video, food and style dedicated to expressing a new cannabis mentality. Through exclusive content and relatable perspectives, MERRY JANE highlights the best of cannabis lifestyle while also offering vital, interactive tools to explore the new frontier of products, dispensaries and community.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *